Technology snafu I no longer see…

Please retweetBack in the 1990s, I went over to a friend’s house to work on a science project.  I joined my friend in the kitchen where he was eating a snack.  While I was talking to him, I looked up at the refrigerator and, affixed to the freezer door was a 3 1/2″ floppy disk, held in place by a magnet!  I asked my friend whose disk was on the freezer door, and he told me it was his mom’s work disk.

Fortunately, typical refrigerator magnets do not do lasting damage to floppy disks.  In fact, it would take the strong magnetic field of a rare-earth magnet, such as a neodymium magnet, to damage a floppy disk permanently beyond the capabilities of a recovery program like Norton Disk Doctor.

In what ways have you seen or observed the potential abuse of technology?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Francis M. Unson

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

